ANKARA:   A New Beginning

 

Every endless night has a dawning day, every darkest sky has a shining ray…” was a line from Ricky Martin’s song that kept on playing in my head while on board the bus on the way to Ankara. At the break of dawn of 23 November 2016, the city greeted me with renewed hope as well as a promise of a second shot at life.

 

We all have our fair share of failed relationships and I guess that is normal to happen at some point in our lives. Instinctively, we keep on convincing ourselves that life has got plenty of transitions and when the relationship is on the rocks, we at least try to move on and put it down to experience. On the other hand, the difficulty lies in how we struggle to cope with the stubborn negative emotions. You either run or hide. If running means a risk of losing your loved ones, the comfort of your home, career, dear friends and investments, will you still be brave enough to turn your back on them and just run, hit the road to Change? While hiding means you’re not ready to risk them all and perhaps it is safer, cheaper, and easier to suck it all up. That being said, when we are in this dilemma we tend to perceive Change as an uncomfortable buddy. The good thing is, I am cool with Change…and so I chose to run…free from agony, abuse and isolation. We all have a choice and free will to decide what is better for ourselves.

 

Independence comes at a price. Looking at the bright side, this exhilarating feeling of independence has brought me back to life. I am happy and content to live my life like an anonymous adventure. I am nobody’s captive. I am nobody’s prey. I am free.

 

Growing up in a tropical country, I had always dreamed of snowflakes falling on my skin and waking up to a wintry morning clad in boots, leather mittens, and scarf. Such strange or shall I say mad fascination was the by-product of my huge interest in romantic flicks filmed in the winter. Hats off to Serendipity.

IMAG0642_BURST003.jpg

IMG_0037

